Review: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

By the time I was finished with Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, I was so thoroughly enthralled with the series that when I got my hands on Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, I faked illness to skip class in order to read it. My parents knew what was up the whole time. Like the first three, I read it quickly and without pause.

image

The Goblet of Fire was a pivotal book in the series for several reasons:

First, we learn that there are two other magic schools in Europe apart from Hogwarts: Beauxbatons and Durmstrang. Second, Harry, Ron, and Hermione start behaving curiously like teenagers (Harry develops a crush, and Ron and Hermione become…confused. Ahaha). Third, Ron and Harry have their first real fight. Fourth, there is a death. And finally, a certain dark lord is resurrected (It is probably moot to call a spoiler alert).

image

Most of the book is taken up by The Triwizard Tournament, but other notable events like the Quidditch World Cup and the Yule Ball take place. For some reason, I have never been able to get the phrase “Ron and Hermione having a blazing row” out of my head. I love the way this book was written. I thought J.K. Rowling was at her most masterful with The Prisoner of Azkaban, but she turned out something special with The Goblet of Fire too. I mean, did you see that was coming in the end? Or that? Or even that?

One of the most vivid images I see when I think about Harry Potter is the first task of the Triwizard Tournament. Harry must take a golden egg from a nest protected by a Hungarian Horntail, a vicious species of dragon. His opponents try different elaborate spells, but he opts for something simpler: Accio Firebolt! Moody had told him to play to his strengths, and the result was glorious. Harry regained his confidence, the fear melted away, and he completed his task with style. I have since tried to always play to my strengths.

My memories of the first four Harry Potter novels are much clearer and more dear to me than those of the last three. I have a harder time remembering what transpired in the books after The Goblet of Fire. In fact, what I remember most about Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows are the deaths and the casualties. My attachment to the first four books may be because I read them when I was younger. To me, The Goblet of Fire was a cusp between a simpler time and a more complicated one. J.K. Rowling must have understood what her books meant to her young readers because she soundly prepared us for what was to come.

This was a post by Kubi, who needs to go clean squid now.

Review: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

Leave a Reply

