Review: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling

I knew what I was getting into when I read Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. I knew that it would be intense and I knew that something wrong was going to happen. I was a mess after Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire because of what happened towards the end and it took me a while to pick up the fifth book because I was mildly depressed. I think that it has been established that I suck when it comes to letting go of the characters in the books that I read and both Goblet of Fire and Order of the Phoenix have turned me into a faucet.

image

The mood is still dark and sinister especially since Voldemort has risen and The Ministry of Magic has taken over Hogwarts to suck the fun out of learning. The ministry has gone to great lengths to make sure that the news of the rise of Voldemort will not leak and poison the minds of the wizarding world. This fuels the rage and unleashes the radical spirits of the students of Hogwarts for they refuse to submit to the demands of the ministry. What follows is a rapid succession of events that will keep its readers on edge. There is no denying the length and heft of the fifth book in the series but Rowling makes up for it by filling its pages with electrifying and emotionally-charged scenes and dousing them with a volatile concoction that is entirely her own.

It’s no Prisoner of Azkaban, which is undoubtedly my favorite in the series, but I enjoyed reading Order of the Phoenix. Predictably, I was a mess towards the end but this just further illustrates the impact that these books have on anyone who decides to read them.

This was a post by Hanna, who sees cobwebs and gray skies.

Review: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling

Leave a comment