Hanna’s Favorite Reads in 2011

Last year was a good year for reading as evidenced by my massive list:

Favorite Reads in 2011

  • The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart
  • 84 Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff
  • Love is a Mixtape by Rob Sheffield
  • Blankets by Craig Thompson
  • No One Belongs Here More Than You by Miranda July
  • Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman by Haruki Murakami
  • The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster
  • Going Solo by Roald Dahl
  • My Most Excellent Year by Steve Kluger
  • American on Purpose by Craig Ferguson
  • The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde
  • Lamb by Christopher Moore
  • Talking to Girls about Duran Duran by Rob Sheffield
  • Goodbye, Chunky Rice by Craig Thompson
  • Smoke and Mirrors by Neil Gaiman
  • I am the Messenger by Markus Zusak
  • As Simple as Snow by Gregory Galloway
  • Pure Drivel by Steve Martin
  • Stories for Nighttime and Some for the Day by Ben Loory

It was a year for discoveries as in I have discovered that The Phantom Tollbooth is probably my most favorite children’s book of all time, Rob Sheffield can see through my soul, Steve Martin is my hero, and Craig Ferguson is awesome sauce (well, I did know that but his memoir just confirmed it). It was a good year for YA as well, especially for Kubi and me. I also read a ton of poetry collections and short stories and 84 Charing Cross Road deserves a special mention for making me bawl my eyes out.

Basically, 2011 was a good year. Here’s hoping that this year will be spectacular.

Hanna’s Favorite Reads in 2011

Leave a Reply

