Currently Reading: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

I recently finished Robin Sloan’s Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, which I found interesting albeit kind of flat. There was a little something in there for most every kind of geek (e.g. for book geeks: “We’ve got a journalist’s memoir, a designer’s manifesto, a celebrity chef’s graphic novel.”) I could just feel the bait being offered. But perhaps, because there was an attempt to discuss the interface between printed material (“Old Knowledge” or “OK” as it is referred to in the book) and digital media, it wasn’t quite the trip I was hoping for with a book about books.

Anyway, I’m still going the nerdy/ nostalgia route with Ernest Cline’s much-talked about Ready Player One. Pretty excited. So, adding to the bedside stack, so to speak (as I am reading an e-book version – and no, the irony is not lost on me).

This was a post by Kubi whose next bus ride is to the mountains.

Image

Leave a Reply

