Kubi’s Year-end Review

image

I read more books in 2012 than any other year I’d tracked my reads. I’m surprised, but pleased, because I was awful busy. Although I will say, there was this one golden stretch where I felt like I had found a balance between my reading and the stuff I had to do for work and school.

Also, towards the end of the year, I learned to earnestly read e-books and am glad for it. I thought the slight disconnect between reader and page would throw me off, but was happily wrong. Certain books even in digital form still made me want to rip out my heart (Second Chance Summer, I’m looking at you). Anyway, here are my favorites for 2012:

  1. Rules of Civility by Amor Towles – The glittering Twenties descending into the Depression, the complicated bonds of men and women, and well, the rules of civility.
  2. Tender at the Bone: Growing Up at the Table by Ruth Reichl – A discerning palate’s coming of age. Ruth Reichl is wicked cool and a damn fine writer.
  3. Talking to Girls About Duran Duran by Rob Sheffield – Or, the one where I wish I could write about music the way Rob Sheffield does.
  4. Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen – Jane Austen was being funny and Catherine Morland is loony.
  5. Carnet de Voyage by Craig Thompson – I like travel books, and they’re even better when drawn. Made me wish I could draw.
  6. City of Thieves by David Benioff – You must read it just for the chess game.
  7. The El Bimbo Variations by Adam David (with Josel Nicolas) – Clever. Very clever.
  8. The Elephant Vanishes by Haruki Murakami – I didn’t understand a lot of it, but the words just trickled so amiably into my brain.
  9. The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There by Catherynne M. Valente – September went to Fairyland-below and all I got were all the stupid feels. I need the next one, poste haste.
  10. The Bermudez Triangle by Maureen Johnson – This is my favorite Maureen Johnson book (and that’s saying something because she’s written a couple about Europe).

This was a post by Kubi who is plotting her reading year.

Kubi’s Year-end Review

Leave a Reply

