Hanna’s Year-End Review

It was another year filled with beautiful stories and magic.

2013 was a particularly busy year, but procrastination allowed me to read some of the most incredible books that have, in one way or another, made a significant impact on the way I read, write, observe, and create.

Here are my favorites for 2013:

Hanna's Year-End Review(Click the photo for a larger view)

1. Sailing Alone Around the Room by Billy Collins – Beautiful imagery, words that jump right out of the page, and masterful storytelling. I’m happy that these poems exist.

2. Hold Still by Nina LaCour – Heartbreakingly beautiful.

3. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin – Remarkably creepy and seductive. Also, Noah Shaw. And I want a brother like Daniel.

4. Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor – A gorgeous and satisfying read.

5. The Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner – I know this is cheating because there are actually four books in this series, but these stories are so delicious and I want them all. Also, Eugenides is boss.

6. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell – I was a mess of rainbows after reading this book. Read my review here, where I gushed about it and tried to articulate my feelings about, and for, Eleanor & Park.

7. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones – Spectacularly clever and magical.

8. The Avery Shaw Experiment by Kelly Oram – I can’t with this book.

9. Graceling by Kristin Cashore – I want to be Katsa when I grow up.

10.Abarat by Clive Barker – Reading it felt like I was part of a magical mystery tour.

11. The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay – Images of broken flowers, cracked eggshells, and blue roses spring to mind. There was a multitude of pauses and tears, and it made me forget about sleep.

12.The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman – It conjured up memories of being a kid and being afraid and trying to remember and trying to forget. I’m still thinking about it. (Read Kubi’s review here, where she tried to sort out her feelings about this book and say thank you to one of our most beloved word painters.)

13.Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – It was like I sneezed, my soul escaped, and Rainbow Rowell caught it.

14.Turn Around Bright Eyes by Rob Sheffield – This provides glimpses into various parts of Rob Sheffield’s life that are familiar to me. I want to write about music like he does. Or at least become his karaoke buddy.

15.The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart – Incredibly clever and a delightful read. I want to go on more adventures with The Mysterious Benedict Society.

16.It’s a Magical World by Bill Watterson – Calvin and Hobbes, always and forevermore.

17.City of Thieves by David Benioff – A rollicking tale of war, survival, desire, friendship, and eggs. Also, a very impressive chess game.

18.Dear Mr. Henshaw by Beverly Cleary – It’s a wonderful little book that I wish I had read when I was a kid.

This was a post by Hanna, who wants more time to read and write and eat dumplings.

Hanna’s Year-End Review

Leave a Reply

