Deal Me In 2014: A Short Story Reading Challenge

This year, we’re participating in Deal Me In 2014, a short story reading challenge hosted by Jay over at Bibliophilopolis

deal me in logo

Here are the mechanics as seen on the site:

What is the goal?
To read 52 short stories in 2014 (that’s only one per week)

What do I need?
1) Access to at least fifty-two short stories
2) A deck of cards
3) Less than an hour of reading time each week

Where do I post about my stories?
1) on your own blog or website if you have one (I will link to your post at the bottom of my weekly post. I currently plan to do my weekly post on Sundays)
2) if you don’t have a blog or website you may comment on my weekly post, sharing thoughts on your own story – or start one at WordPress or blogspot – it’s easy and free to create a basic blog.

How do I pick which stories to read?
(The 52 stories themselves are totally up to you.) Before you get started, come up with a roster of fifty-two stories (you can use any source) and assign each one to a playing card in a standard deck of cards. It can be fun to use different suits for different types of stories, but that is optional. Each “week,” (if you’re like me, you may occasionally fall a story or two behind) you draw a card at random from your deck and that is the story you will read.

Links to our short story lists:
Click here for Hanna’s list.
Click here for Kubi’s list.

This challenge is a fun, novel way to discover new authors and stories, to explore different genres, and to jumpstart the reading habit. We’re really excited to begin and we hope that you can join us!

Deal Me In 2014: A Short Story Reading Challenge

2 thoughts on “Deal Me In 2014: A Short Story Reading Challenge

Leave a Reply

