It’s Monday! What are you reading?

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey. It’s a fun way to keep track of current reads and to find out what other people have been reading. There is a linky thing at the end of the post, so go forth, visit new reading blogs, and add to your to-read list!

monday reads

Hello multiverse and fellow lovers of the written word!

On our last It’s Monday! What are you reading? post, I whined about Real Life getting in the way of my precious reading time, and huzzaed at the glorious bookshelf that my father, the superhero, promised and delivered.

My desire to re-read Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice was also mentioned, and I happily leafed through its yellowing pages while sitting comfortably in my little corner of the room.

Pamela Moore’s Chocolates for Breakfast was so delicious that I devoured it in one sitting and longed for seconds. It is a very important book and should be included in a starter kit for girls, who are traversing the thin line between adolescence and adulthood.

Of my recent acquisitions, which were displayed ever so proudly on a recent book haul post, I breezed through a couple of graphic novels and read Joan Lindsay’s Picnic at Hanging Rock while sitting for hours on a hospital hallway. Nancy Drew was still a delight, and Bella Tuscany by Frances Mayes only reinforced my desire to retire under the Tuscan sun. Sally Gardner’s Maggot Moon ripped my heart to shreds, while Daytripper by Fabio Moon and Gabriel Ba ruined me in the best of ways.

Monday

The previous months have seen me succumb to the evil forces of the Real World. I spent most of my time holed up in my room, chasing a lifetime of hours and scribbling away. My breaks, though few and far between, almost always consisted of Frosted Flakes, ’90s jams, and a current read.

In a way, it was perfect. I chose books carefully and took my time to fully absorb them. It’s far more satisfying this way, and it assures me that 2014 will be a spectacular year for reading.

This was a post by Hanna, who is thwarting the Monday blues with a brown paper bag of peanut butter cups and chocolate kisses.

It’s Monday! What are you reading?

6 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

    1. Hi Kathy! You have an interesting mix of reads as well.

      As a fan of Nikola Tesla, I am incredibly intrigued by Nick and Tesla’s Secret Agent Gadget Battle.

      Enjoy your day with Deb Caletti! (The Queen of Everything made a huge impression on me when I was younger.) I hope you have a safe trip.

      Thanks for dropping by! Happy reading!

    1. Hello! I thoroughly enjoyed every single one on this list. 🙂

      I noticed that you’ve finished reading Tahereh Mafi’s Ignite Me. I’m curious to know what you thought about it because it was such a frustrating read for me. I haven’t read any of the other books on your list, but I hope you had a wonderful time reading each one.

      Thank you for dropping by!

    1. Hi! Thank you for the kind words. The chocolates definitely helped me get through the day. 🙂

      I hope you and Daisy Jane will have a blast this week. Thank you for stopping by! I wish you good vibes and a good week for reading!

Leave a Reply

