It’s Monday! What are you reading?

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey. It’s a fun way to keep track of current reads and to find out what other people have been reading. There is a linky thing at the end of the post, so go forth, visit new reading blogs, and add to your to-read list!

monday reads

HANNA:

Salutations, fellow rabid readers! It’s been ages since the last Monday post, but we promise we’ve been reading!

September churned out two book reviews: one for V.E. Schwab’s Vicious, and the other for Christopher Moore’s Sacré Bleu: A Comedy d’ArtI also wrote a rather lengthy book loot post, which was a visual representation of my lack of self-restraint.

loot

As for my recent acquisitions, I finally have my own copy of Jessica Zafra’s Womenagerie and the hardcover edition of The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. The most important decision I made yesterday was to grab the Starz tie-in edition of Outlander by Diana Gabaldon because I want Sam Heughan and Caitriona Balfe in close proximity.

library

flowers

In other news, I borrowed the littlest sister’s copy of Sophie Divry’s The Library of Unrequited Love and I am fascinated. I am also enthralled by William Lychack’s lovely collection of short stories entitled The Architect of Flowers, which was a gift from the sister’s boyfriend. The title story is my favorite one so far.

Lately I’ve had the sudden urge to brush up on my history, which is why I’ve been devouring Robert Lacey’s Great Tales from English History: The Truth About King Arthur, Lady Godiva, Richard the Lionheart, and More.

My TBR pile is still of gargantuan proportions, and I fear for the current state of my bookshelf.

KUBI:

How now, wordlings? Still, I trudge. Thesis writing continues to rule my existence. I haven’t been a very good reader lately what with the attention span excusing itself at the end of the day. Buy when I’m not being catatonic, I do manage to squeeze in the odd book. I recently read Hiroshi Sakurazaka’s All You Need is Kill, which was the inspiration for the secret (just to me?) sci-fi hit Edge of Tomorrow. I’d heard good things about the film and didn’t know it was a book until I saw photos of the movie tie-in edition. I was intrigued so I did a back-to-back reading/ viewing. They were both spectacularly entertaining and I have not been able to shut up about either. So yes: read/ watch Edge of Tomorrow.

I also just read The Serpent of Venice, Christopher Moore’s follow up to his Fool, which I loveThe Serpent of Venice is an amalgam of Edgar Allan Poe’s The Cask of Amontillado and William Shakespeare’s The Merchant of Venice and Othello. It was a feat but Moore somehow got it all to work. Plotting and conniving ensue, the odd wank is thrown in, and there is always a bloody ghost! It’s so irreverent and unhinged, it’s a bit of a shock to read Moore’s afterword where he talks lovingly and quite calmly about the source materials and how he stitched them together to bring his lively abomination (his word, not mine) to life.

Anyway, getting to the point. There are a few books on my nightstand these days. Reading time is precious so I’m wading into as many pools as I can (does that even make sense?).

The Bone Clocks is in stores, so I unearthed David Mitchell’s number9dream from the bowels of my bookcase. I’ve always gotten the impression that his books have a bit of a fantasy flavor so I’ve resolved to finally get my Mitchell on.

???????????????????????????????

I also have my toes in Scott Lynch’s Red Seas Under Red Skies, the sequel to The Lies of Locke Lamora (read it now if you haven’t). I also have Outlander by Diana Gabaldon because, gawd, that show. I don’t know if I ever would have picked up the book without a nudge. I’d seen it before and would always kind of pass it over. Hanna wouldn’t get off my case and I’ve finally seen the error of my ways. Duly rectified. I cannae wait for all the Jamie adventure.

???????????????????????????????

Finally, Wild by Cheryl Strayed is within reach because a lot of the time these days, I feel like I’m always at the foot of a new mountain to scale. Here’s to finding some clarity.

???????????????????????????????

All for now, lads and lassies. Read on and read strong 🙂 Have a great week!

It’s Monday! What are you reading?

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

    1. Hello! I have the paperbacks as well, but I’ve been meaning to pass them on to my cousin, who is obsessed with the Narnia books. Thank you for stopping by! We hope you have a fantastic reading week!

    1. Hi! It’s a clever and interesting little book. I saw your list and Neutral Mask caught my eye. I’ve only ever read Barry Lyga’s The Astonishing Adventures of Fanboy & Goth Girl.

      Thank you for visiting! We hope you have a great reading week!

Leave a Reply

