It’s Monday! What are you reading?

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey. It’s a fun way to keep track of current reads and to find out what other people have been reading. There is a linky thing at the end of the post, so go forth, visit new reading blogs, and add to your to-read list! monday reads

Salutations, multiverse!

Last week, I picked up my sister’s copy of Gregoire Delacourt’s The List of My Desires and became fully absorbed in Jocelyne’s story. (I wanted to hug her and make her happy.)

The List of My Desires

I also re-read the first two books in the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy by Laini Taylor before diving into the final book in the series.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone was still as breathtaking and magical as the first time I read it. Days of Blood and Starlight was still savagely beautiful and heartbreaking. There was a lot going on in Dreams of Gods and Monsters, but it provided a satisfying end to a spectacular series. This particular book also caused an ugly-cry face and reinforced my love and admiration for Karou.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone Series

I have fallen in love with Laini Taylor’s prose and I wanted more after reading the final book in the trilogy. I learned about Night of Cake and Puppets from Kubi, and it was the perfect happy potion. This book is made entirely out of squee and I devoured it like cake.

Night of Cake and Puppets

As for my recent acquisitions, I found these two gems at a second-hand bookshop:

Book Loot

Monday was spent revisiting Neil Gaiman’s deliciously dark and haunting The Sandman universe, starting with Preludes and Nocturnes.

Preludes and Nocturnes

I plan on reading Gaiman’s The Doll’s House this week, as well as Laini Taylor’s Lips Touch: Three Times.

On a totally unrelated but delightfully cheery note, I bought a new pair of boots and watched The Grand Budapest Hotel with the sisters and my bookworm-in-training cousin. We picked up a couple of pizzas on the way home, and sang along to ’90s pop songs in the car.

Needless to say, Monday was a goddess today and has set a pretty high standard for the rest of the week.

This was a post by Hanna, who is running out of shelf space.

It’s Monday! What are you reading?

3 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

    1. Hello! We have a soft spot for beautiful book covers as well. 🙂

      You have plenty of pretty books on your list, and the ones that have caught my attention are Kate Christensen’s Blue Plate Special, Charlie Lovett’s The Bookman’s Tale, Deborah Meyler’s The Bookstore (I’ve heard about it, but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet), and Ruth Reichl’s Delicious! (Her Tender at the Bone was a spectacularly delicious read).

      Thank you for stopping by! I hope you have a wonderful reading week. 🙂

      -Hanna

Leave a comment